Sunday, April 22, 2012

Album Review - Last Color

From the crossfade video above, I'm sure you could tell that this album review would be on SCL Project's latest album - Last Color! Basically this is the first and the last major album for VanaN'Ice, so fans of VocaRock and male Vocaloid2 characters should not miss this!

Before that, let's wiki attack to get an introduction on VanaN'Ice and also the team behind this superb album!

Kagamine Len, Kamui Gakupo and Shion Kaito were united as a single vocal group to form a virtual band known as VanaN'Ice where Gakupo plays the bass while Kaito and Len plays the guitar. Often these virtual idols are featured in virtual Kei style. Thus these Vocaloid2 characters are often dressed in extravagant costumes as illustrated in most of their PVs.

The most notable song of VanaN'Ice would have been [Imitation Black] which have hit 1.2 million views on NicoNicoDouga recently. [Setsugetsuka] is another song which is rising in fame too.

SCL Project is the production team that produced all the songs for the virtual band, VanaN'Ice. natsu-P is in charged of the music, vocal tuning as well as the lyrics where else Haku is responsible for the mixing and the playing of musical instruments such as guitar, bass, drums, etc. Finally, let us not forget HaruAki who contributed pretty illustrations and PVs that inspired the cosplay community all around the world!

Besides songs featuring VanaN'Ice members, I would like to recommend another song by SCL Project - [Spiral Game]

Now, let us move on to the actual album! Here's the song list as shown below. Alternately, you can check that out on VocaDB (link)

  1. LOVELESS×××
  2. Le rouge est amour
  3. 背徳の記憶〜The Lost Memory〜
  4. Dark Side of the Moon
  5. Tears Rain
  6. 13943号室
  7. Arrest Rose
  8. 桜舞イ散リヌ-麗-
  9. Last Letter
  10. Escape
  11. Eternal Song
  13. Fate:Rebirth (BONUS TRACK)
  14. 刹月華 (BONUS TRACK)
  15. LOVELESS -piano ver- (BONUS TRACK)

First and foremost, I would have to mention that the songs in this album were listed in a very beautiful order! The first 8 songs, with [背徳の記憶〜The Lost Memory〜 ] in particular, gave a rather dark/emotional feel to the album. That would definitely touch the hearts of fans with a liking for sentimental and emotional melodies.

After these songs, the album turns back to the usual rock feel, with several solo songs featuring each of the band member. 
Kagamine Len, Kamui Gakupo and Shion Kaito have their spotlight moment in  [Dark Side of the Moon], [Le rouge est amour] and [Tears Rain] respectively!

To end this post, I would like to share one particular song with a sweet xylophone melody - [桜舞イ散リヌ-麗-]

No comments:

Post a Comment